Cream 1968 Farewell Tour Box Set Due

A four-disc box set of Cream’s farwell 1968 tour will feature previously unreleased concert recordings from 1968.

Goodbye Tour Live 1968 features performances at the Oakland Coliseum Arena; the Forum in Los Angeles and the San Diego Sport Arena during their final trip to California, along with the famous farewell show at London’s  Royal Albert Hall. While some of the material has been around before and bootlegged, 19 of the 36 tracks have not previously been released in full.

“Cream was a shambling circus of diverse personalities who happened to find that catalyst together” said Eric Clapton in a statement. “Any one of us could have played unaccompanied for a good length of time. So you put the three of us together in front of an audience willing to dig it limitlessly, we could have gone on forever.  And we did – just going for the moon every time we played.”

Goodbye Tour Live 1968 also marks the first time the Albert Hall show has been available on CD, having only been released on DVD in the past. It’s the first authorised launch of all four shows, and the recordings have been remastered from the original tapes. The set will be released on February 7th.

Ten days later, on February 17th, Clapton will lead a tribute concert to drummer the late Ginger Baker who did in October 2019.

 The tribute show will take place at London’s Hammersmith Apollo and will feature music the pair worked on in both Cream and Blind Faith.

Cream – ‘Goodbye Tour Live 1968’ Track List

Disc 1: Oakland Coliseum Arena
1. “White Room”
2. “Politician”
3. “Crossroads”
4. “Sunshine of Your Love”
5. “Spoonful”
6. “Deserted Cities of the Heart”
7. “Passing the Time”
8. “I’m So Glad”

Disc 2: The Forum, Los Angeles
1. “Introduction”
2. “White Room”
3. “Politician”
4. “I’m So Glad”
5. “Sitting on Top of the World”
6. “Crossroads”
7. “Sunshine of Your Love”
8. “Traintime”
9. “Toad”
10. “Spoonful”

Disc 3: San Diego Sports Arena
1. “White Room”
2. “Politician”
3. “I’m So Glad”
4. “Sitting on Top of the World”
5. “Sunshine of Your Love”
6. “Crossroads”
7. “Traintime”
8. “Toad”
9. “Spoonful”

Disc 4: Royal Albert Hall, London
1. “White Room”
2. “Politician”
3. “I’m So Glad”
4. “Sitting on Top of the World”
5. “Crossroads”
6. “Toad”
7. “Spoonful”
8. “Sunshine of Your Love”
9. “Steppin’ Out”

This entry was posted in Rock. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.