Morrison Releases 40th album – Is that Archie Andrews On The Cover?

Van Morrison has recently confirmed that he will release his 40th studio album, ‘The Prophet Speaks’, on 7th December on Caroline International. The new album will also feature jazz organist and trumpeter Joey DeFrancesco.

‘Got To Go Where the Love Is’ is one of six new originals by Morrison that will be featured along with other sides which are covers of Sam Cooke, John Lee Hooker and Solomon Burke titles.

“It was important for me to get back to recording new music as well as doing some blues material that has inspired me from the beginning,” Morrison said. “Writing songs and making music is what I do, and working with great musicians makes it all the more enjoyable.” The album also carries a distinctive photo of Van with a ventriloquit’s doll – speculated to be the 1950s radio show ‘Archie Andrews’.

This new 14-track release is also his second album released in 2018, following ‘You’re Driving Me Crazy’, which was released in April.

It also part of a recent run of back-to-back releases that started with 2017’s ‘Roll With The Punches’ and delves deep into the musical styles including blues, R&B, soul and jazz that have influenced Morrison throughout his career.

Included in this post is the official video for ‘Got To Go Where The Love Is’, the lead single from the new album.

This entry was posted in Blues, Film -TV, Jazz, Rhythm & Blues, Rock, Soul. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.