Career Spanning Box Set From Stephen Stills Out On March 25th

A new career spanning b4 CD set from Steve Stills is due out in the UK on March 25th (26th in the USA). Called ‘Carry On’ the set released by Rhino will feature for the first time, material from Stills’ entire career for a number of labels as a solo artist, with Buffalo Springfield and Crosby, Stills and Nash (and sometimes Young). Also included are rarities from the early group, the Au Go Go Singers and work with Jimi Hendrix and Steve Fromholz.

The set was produced by Graham Nash and Joel Bernstein and includes 82 tracks of including 25 unissued sides. Included are demos and¬†early versions of songs plus a ¬†track ¬†with Jimi Hendrix, called ‘No Name Jam.

The package has a 113-page book with photos and liner notes by Michael O’Hara Garcia, David Bender, and Daniel Levitin.

Track List:

Disc 1

  • Travelin’¬†– Stephen Stills (previously unreleased)
  • High Flyin’ Bird¬†–¬†The Au Go Go Singers (from¬†They Call Us Au Go-Go Singers, 1964)
  • Sit Down I Think I Love You¬†–¬†Buffalo Springfield (from¬†Buffalo Springfield, 1966)
  • Go And Say Goodbye¬†–¬†Buffalo Springfield¬†(from¬†Buffalo Springfield, 1966)
  • For What It’s Worth¬†–¬†Buffalo Springfield (single, 1966; added to reissue of¬†Buffalo Springfield, 1967)
  • Everydays¬†–¬†Buffalo Springfield (previously unreleased)
  • Pretty Girl Why¬†–¬†Buffalo Springfield (from¬†Last Time Around, 1968)
  • Bluebird¬†–¬†Buffalo Springfield (from¬†Buffalo Springfield Again, 1967)
  • Rock ‘n Roll Woman¬†–¬†Buffalo Springfield¬†(from¬†Buffalo Springfield Again, 1967)
  • Special Care¬†–¬†Buffalo Springfield¬†(from¬†Last Time Around, 1968)
  • Questions¬†–¬†Buffalo Springfield¬†(from¬†Last Time Around, 1968)
  • Uno Mundo¬†–¬†Buffalo Springfield¬†(from¬†Last Time Around, 1968)
  • Four Days Gone¬†–¬†Buffalo Springfield¬†(from¬†Last Time Around, 1968)
  • Who Ran Away?¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (previously unreleased)
  • Forty-Nine Reasons¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (previously unreleased)
  • Helplessly Hoping¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash (from¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash, 1969)
  • You Don’t Have To Cry¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash¬†(from¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash, 1969)
  • Suite: Judy Blue Eyes¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash¬†(from¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash, 1969)
  • 4+20¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(previously unreleased)
  • So Begins The Task¬†– Stephen Stills (previously unreleased)
  • The Lee Shore¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (previously unreleased)
  • Carry On/Questions¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young (from¬†Deja Vu, 1970)
  • Woodstock¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young¬†(from¬†Deja Vu, 1970)

Disc 2

  • Love The One You’re With¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (from¬†Stephen Stills, 1970)
  • Old Times Good Times¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Stephen Stills, 1970)
  • Black Queen¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Stephen Stills, 1970)
  • No-Name Jam¬†–¬†Stephen Stills & Jimi Hendrix (previously unreleased)
  • Go Back Home¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Stephen Stills, 1970)
  • Marianne¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Stephen Stills 2, 1971)
  • My Love Is A Gentle Thing¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (from¬†Pieces, 2009)
  • Fishes And Scorpions¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Stephen Stills, 1970)
  • The Treasure¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (previously unreleased)
  • To A Flame¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (previously unreleased)
  • Cherokee¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Stephen Stills, 1970)
  • Song Of Love¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Manassas, 1972)
  • Rock n Roll Crazies/Cuban Bluegrass¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (from¬†Manassas, 1972)
  • Jet Set (Sigh)¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Manassas, 1972)
  • It Doesn’t Matter¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Manassas, 1972)
  • Colorado¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Manassas, 1972)
  • Johnny’s Garden¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Manassas, 1972)
  • Change Partners¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (previously unreleased)
  • Do For Others¬†–¬†Stephen Stills and Steve Fromholz (previously unreleased)
  • Find The Cost Of Freedom¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young (previously unreleased)
  • Little Miss Bright Eyes¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (previously unreleased)
  • Isn’t It About Time¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (from¬†Down the Road, 1973)

Disc 3

  • Turn Back The Pages¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (from¬†Stills, 1975)
  • First Things First¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (previously unreleased)
  • My Angel¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (previously unreleased)
  • Love Story¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Stills, 1975)
  • As I Come Of Age¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Stills, 1975)
  • Know You Got To Run¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (previously unreleased)
  • Black Coral¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young (previously unreleased)
  • I Give You Give Blind¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash (from¬†CSN, 1977)
  • Crossroads/You Can’t Catch Me¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (previously unreleased)
  • See The Changes¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash (previously unreleased)
  • Thoroughfare Gap¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (from¬†Thoroughfare Gap, 1978)
  • Lowdown¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Thoroughfare Gap, 1978)
  • Cuba Al Fin¬†(edit)¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (from¬†Havana Jam, 1979)
  • Dear Mr. Fantasy¬†–¬†Stephen Stills & Graham Nash (from¬†CSN, 1991)
  • Spanish Suite¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (from¬†Man Alive!, 2005)
  • Feel Your Love¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash¬†(from Remastered edtion of¬†Daylight Again, 2006)
  • Raise A Voice¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash¬†(from Remastered edtion of¬†Daylight Again, 2006)
  • Daylight Again¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash (from¬†Daylight Again, 1982)

Disc 4

  • Southern Cross¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash¬†(from¬†Daylight Again, 1982)
  • Dark Star¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash¬†(from¬†CSN, 1977)
  • Turn Your Back On Love¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash¬†(from¬†Allies, 1983)
  • War Games¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash (from¬†Allies, 1983)
  • 50/50¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (from¬†Right by You, 1984)
  • Welfare Blues¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (previously unreleased)
  • Church¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (previously unreleased)
  • I Don’t Get It¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Man Alive!, 2005)
  • Isn’t It So¬†–¬†Stephen Stills (from¬†Stills Alone, 1991)
  • Haven’t We Lost Enough?¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash (from¬†Live It Up, 1990)
  • Ballad Of Hollis Brown¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Stills Alone, 1991)
  • Treetop Flyer¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Stills Alone, 1991)
  • Heart’s Gate¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Man Alive!, 2005)
  • Girl From The North Country¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash (previously unreleased)
  • Feed The People¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Man Alive!, 2005)
  • Panama¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash (from¬†After the Storm, 1994)
  • No Tears Left¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills & Nash (previously unreleased)
  • Ole Man Trouble¬†–¬†Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young (previously unreleased)
  • Ain’t It Always¬†–¬†Stephen Stills¬†(from¬†Man Alive!, 2005)

Sounds like this is a set that all fans of CSNY will want to check out.

This entry was posted in 45 rpm, Americana, Compact Disc, Country/Hillbilly, Rare Records, Rock, Uncategorized, You Tube. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *